Penalties for a Sex Crime in Michigan

On May 2, 2013 the state of Michigan approved a change to the fees that sex offenders must pay. Previously, registered sex offenders had to pay a one-time fee of $50 dollars, but the new bill passed in the Senate with a 33 to 2 vote now requires an annual payment of $50. A Republican senate member who sponsored the bill clarifies that $20 of the fee will be directed to local law enforcement, while the other $30 will go to the state. This bill is applied to the registered sex offenders who are no longer in prison, and there is a possibility to get the fee waived if the registered offender must be… read more